Inauguration of Teachers’ Professional Development Centre in The University of Saint Joseph





The Teachers’ Professional Development Centre (TPDC) was officially inaugurated on 28 March 2023.

On 28 March 2023, the School of Education of the University of Saint Joseph (USJ) inaugurated the Teachers’ Professional Development Centre (TPDC) and held the first batch teaching-and-research-collaboration MOU signing ceremony. 

Rector of USJ, Prof. Stephen Morgan, believes that by equipping our educators with the necessary professional skills, knowledge, and resources, we are empowering them to create a positive and long-lasting impact on their students, schools, and society as a whole.

Prof. Isabel Tchiang, Director of the Centre, indicated that in the 10 years since its launch, the Post-graduate Diploma in Education programme has fostered over 1,200 graduates. The Centre aims to support the professional development of teaching staff by providing specialized curriculum, activities, workshops and resource-sharing, and to establish a professional platform for the continuous development of in-service teachers in Macao and the Greater Bay Area. 

Officiating Guest included: Mr. Li Xuefei, Director of Education and Youth Work, The Liaison Office of the Central People’s Government in The Macao Special Administrative Region, Mr. Kong Chi Meng, Director of Education and Youth Affairs Bureau, Most Reverend Stephen Lee Bun Sang, Bishop of the Macao and Chancellor of USJ, Ms. Chen Hong, President of The Chinese Educators Association of Macau, Fr. Chow Pak Fai, President of Macau Catholic School Association, and Prof. Stephen Morgan, Rector of USJ.

The school for signing the first batch teaching-and-research-collaboration MOU (in no particular order): Escola Tong Nam, Escola Kwong Tai, Escola Secundária Pui Ching, Colégio Mateus Ricci, Colégio de Santa Rosa de Lima – Secção Inglesa, Colégio Diocesano de São José (6), Colégio Anglicano de Macau, Jardim de Infância “D. José da Costa Nunes” Associação Promotora da Instrução dos Macaenses, and School of Education, South China Normal University. 

In addition, representatives from 36 primary and secondary schools attended the ceremony.