Observer & Networks



Current Position: Signatory University

Signatory University since: 2018

The first time the Observatory Magna Charta Universitatum document was signed was in 18th of September 1988, in Bologna. At the time, 388 rectors signed the document, marking the increased awareness of the crucial role universities have in the development and internationalisation of society.

The document, currently, has the backing of close to 900 universities from 88 countries.



Current Position: Consultative Observer

Since: 2017

The XXII Ordinary meeting of the Council of Ministers of the Community of Portuguese Language Countries (CPLP), held in Brasília on July 20th, 2017, approved a resolution in which it granted CPLP Consultative Observer status to the University of Saint Joseph.


Rede Lusófona pela Qualidade de Informação

Since: 2018

“The Portuguese language, in service of quality of information, of knowledge and of democracy” was how Professor Carlos Camponez (Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal) defended the creation of the Lusophony Network for Information Quality (Rede Lusófona pela Qualidade da Informação – RLQI).
Members of the network include the Instituto Superior de Ciências Sociais e Políticas of the Universidade de Lisboa (Portugal), the Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina (Brasil), the Universidade de Cabo Verde (Cape Verde), the Universidade de São Tomé e Príncipe (São Tomé and Príncipe), the Centro de Estudos de Comunicação and the Escola Superior de Jornalismo de Moçambique (Mozambique), the Universidade Lusíada da Guiné Bissau (Guinea-Bissau) and the Universidade Agostinho Neto (Angola).

Universities in Jiangsu Province, Macao and Portuguese-speaking Countries

Since: 2015

Jiangsu Province, Macao and Portuguese Speaking Countries Universities Network (JMPUN) was launched by a number of universities from Jiangsu Province, Macao, and Portuguese-speaking countries with the aim of promoting communication, cooperation and win-win development. JMPUN is a non-profit international organisation of higher learning formed voluntarily to explore more opportunities of international cooperation, promote the exchange of personnel, share and complement resources and upgrade the overall innovation capabilities of the universities from Jiangsu, Macao and Portuguese-speaking countries.

Last Updated: January 12, 2021 at 9:31 am